Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
61

Nothing Serious

A day with baby chicks
61

It turns out, I overdid it too soon after getting this,

so I’m trying to take it easy this weekend. That means hanging out in the backyard, knitting and watching baby chicks—we have a baker’s dozen of them now—zoom around like crazy, tiny dinosaurs until they suddenly fall asleep.

I had a moment of insanity (I’m blaming COVID brain), where I decided their moms needed a break & I would build a little mini-coop inside of our fenced-in run with some spare pieces of wire grid. So much for my plans, I put the chicks in with a big wedge of watermelon and they immediately began to squeeze out of my makeshift enclosure, much to the consternation of their moms who ran around trying to corral them.

I ran around collecting chicks, while trying to apologize to the Moms, who were giving me dirty “I told you so” looks. And when I finally got them all inside of a big box with tall sides so they could enjoy their watermelon in relative safety while getting a little sunshine, even my German Shepard Bella stuck close by, giving me reproving glances for failing to take adequate care of the babies. The moms (three of our silkies seem to be co-parenting this batch) didn’t trust me alone with their babies for a second.

Having been suitably chastened by chickens and canines, I’m going to try and get some rest and a good night’s sleep, in hopes I’ll test negative tomorrow (day 9). The academic year is getting ready to start, and I’ve been having a lot of fun planning some new classes and exercises for my first year students. I’m looking forward to getting back to that!

But, while we’re hoping that the bakers dozen of chicks is it, Angelica, pictured above, is still sitting on eggs. Her buddy Pepper hopped out for a quick snack, so I got a quick look at just how many there still are. Since no new chicks appeared today, I’m hopeful the rest are duds. On the other hand, we may have a little more excitement ahead of us!

Undoubtedly, we’ll have a lot of legal news to process this week. Liz Cheney suggested on a Sunday show that the January 6 committee would subpoena Ginni Thomas, Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas’s wife, for testimony if she wouldn’t appear voluntarily. We’ll all be reading the tea leaves to see what, if anything, we can discern about DOJ’s progress. The Attorney General said again, this week, that he’s serious about the investigation. If I was investigating the top tier of defendants involved in the insurrection, I’d be sending grand jury subpoenas to Trump’s White House Counsel Pat Cipollone and his chief of staff Mark Meadows, intent on obtaining their testimony one way or another. We could also see signs DOJ is progressing in the investigation of people with criminal exposure in the plan to use imposter electors to prevent Congress from certifying the election. And there’s more in the saga of the missing Secret Service text messages, with CNN reporting sources have told them there is metadata that suggests messages belonging to ten agents were reversed. Lots ahead, so get ready.

We’re in this together,

Joyce

Civil Discourse with Joyce Vance is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Share

61 Comments
Civil Discourse with Joyce Vance
Civil Discourse with Joyce Vance
Authors
Joyce Vance