79 Comments

Love the chick holding the chick. (Sorry. Couldn't resist.) I also appreciate any optimism that can be celebrated.

Expand full comment

Thank you for this witness to vitality--from the baby chick to Biden's humanizing pardons and gracious invitation to governors to do the same. Beatuiful

Expand full comment

Joyce...

Husband's rolling his eyes is the comfortable trusted love that you help us feel reading your daily letter. Reassuring us to relax at least part of the day...A wonderful gift of compassion to guide us on our journey the remainder of the day making the world just a bit better than yesterday....thank you and bless you Joyce!

Expand full comment

Thank you for your much appreciated perspective. Congrats on new baby’s. Too early to name it?

Expand full comment

Thank you so much for your optimism. Definitely needed it. The news has been so depressing on many fronts and I'm worried about way too many things. Great picture of the little one. 🥰

Expand full comment
founding

Joyce,

Good morning, I hope this reply finds you and all well. A warm welcome to the newest member(s) of your family.

Thank you for your eloquent and intellectually honest discussion of the collateral consequences of punishing people beyond the time they served for past unlawful action. Coming from you, someone with such a long-time work history as a prosecutor, it means a lot. The defense bar has long advocated for removing hurdles for those previously convicted of such crimes so they may return to society, be productive, and support their families.

Cannabis convictions preclude individuals from basic things like housing, driving privileges in certain states, funding for school… it’s overly harsh and also disconnected from making society safer. I applaud President Biden’s move to recognize the humanity in the weeds of reaction punishment.

My best and thank you, again.

Expand full comment
founding

Bless you -- for cuddled baby chick, for Bob rolling his eyes loudly [a warms-the-cockles-of-my heart image], for optimism. All smile-prompts for this morning.

Expand full comment

Of course the uber-wealthy smoking dope on their yachts will be the ones pouring money into the criticism of Biden's action.

Expand full comment

I'm new to Civil Discourse and have read and really appreciate your clarity and the chickens too.

Expand full comment

Thank you this nice Friday morning piece. And toasty vibes to the 🐣 in your coat and those to come. 😁💫

Expand full comment

My condo would not permit a bunch of cluckers on my patio. Yet…they are so cute, and my ball of cuteness died May 23. Yeah, but 83 is too old for a new puppy. So how come I was on line looking for toy poodles which cost an eye dropping 2,000 plus? If I became disabled or died what then? No, I would remain cuteness free. Long story short - He Who Controls My Life is now four months old, and poops on cue on his deck turf and returns to sprinkle a bit more in my condo. And, all that expensive cuteness means there are many who will take him if I am no longer. So, I relax, smile, hold him close (after I clean it all up), and it is about 30%because of chickens.

Expand full comment

Love you and all you do

Expand full comment

Meanwhile in Ohio, all of our "improper handling of a firearm" charges are being dropped because now there IS no way to improperly handle a firearm since any idiot can have one without training or, basically, any rules whatsoever. So, one step forward and one back. Per the usual.

Expand full comment

Great for Biden. I went to college in Tennessee on a 10,000 acre campus in the early 70’s. People grew marijuana in the woods. No one ever got busted. Good times.

Expand full comment

A peaceful, warm and fuzzy way to start the day... I am grateful to Joyce and fellow travelers for the unique community that seems to be taking root here. (And I have not even had my first cup of coffee yet.) I am so inspired that today may just be the day to start weaning myself away from the dystopian world of Twitter. Happy Friday and good weekend to all.😌

Expand full comment
founding

Awwww! Joyce!! Congratulations! Hope springs eternal in the form of a baby chick!

Expand full comment

Oh Joyce! Mazel tov!!! You’re a mommy again🥰 looking forward to seeing more pics!

Expand full comment

What a precious baby! Wonderful way to start the day!

Expand full comment

Joyce, what are the chances that governors fall in line with this action, particularly in Alabama?

Expand full comment

I love this picture! Happy Friday!

Expand full comment

Joyce, do the federal marijuana pardons NOT apply to those currently incarcerated? Just cleaning up the criminal records of those already released? (Currently knitting Isabel Kraemer's Mycroft. What's on YOUR sticks?)

Expand full comment

Dear Joyce, Lovely chick. Is it a Wellsomer? I love them, though Buff Orps are much calmer. thanks for helping us walk this time with such a wonderful grounding. I too farm and advocate, it's the only way I can stay optimistic. The empty sensitive folders would lead one to believe that yes some docs were missing and likely shared somewhere.

Thanks

Expand full comment

I truly hope that our justice department will be able to finally take the necessary action to uphold the laws in this country and I rely solely on you and your colleague's perspective. Thank you.

I love your exotic chickens! What a pleasant way to start your day with a chick and a chick having coffee!

Kise has some credential issues as far as I am concerned as a FARA agent.......so there is this too.......

Expand full comment

What luck--2 precious "chicks" in the picture today! Priceless.

Expand full comment
founding

Thank you for sharing your expertise and life with us. I love reading your posts. The addition of Bella, Harry, the Chicks, and your family are a great antidote to the toxicity of the updates on TFG's latest drama.

Expand full comment

I love the new addition. I also appreciate the clear message you share with us, simple and easy to understand. Thank you for sharing your expertise with us. I agree Biden did the right thing.

Expand full comment

Can't tell you how much I love the way you love your feathered family members. Thanks for the regular doses of humanity served up with all of the political and legal sludge.

Expand full comment

Your column today is a great start to my day - enjoy the emerging chicks!

Expand full comment

You are awesome, and the chick/en updates bring me so much joy! Many thanks for all that you do!!

Expand full comment

I love that you love these sweet babies so much!

Expand full comment

I have been dealing with constant pain from neuropathy and arthritis on my sciatic nerve trunks for a long time. Before I was able to become a patient with a Pain Clinic my life was not worth much. It kept me from taking care of a lot of things, to keept this short as I can. I went through different opoids with my Clinic before settling on oxycodone. It helps keeping the pain level to where I can have somewhat of a life. We don't have a dispensary where I live in MS yet but it's coming. I will be able to manage my pain without drugs legally. It won't help my son in TN. Maybe some day.

Expand full comment

Thank you so much, Joyce ! You always warm my heart. I so appreciate your legal expertise with all that’s constantly going on around us.

Expand full comment

TGIF. And TGI-JV!🐣❤️

Expand full comment

A welcome welcome to the day!

Expand full comment

Always so moving when a brand new life emerges. Reminds us that maybe the universe does know what it’s doing and is actually unfolding as it should. Wishing the little guy a happy life amid the growing flock.

Expand full comment

I love the picture and news about your new chick - Thanks! 😀

Expand full comment

That chicklet is adorable. He appears to be meditating on the size of the world. Please let him know that others take care of a lot of it.

Expand full comment
founding

Thank you, Joyce, for sustaining us with your logic, wisdom, kindness, and this wonderful community. Two other thoughts for the weekend have to be Laurence Tribe noting that Ketanji Brown Jackson gave the justices "a master class in oral argument" and Elie Mystal concluding that the GOP is anti-abortion except when the life of the politician is in danger.

Expand full comment
founding

Cutie. Sorry Joyce, but, I don't think he has "marginalized the one lawyer . . . Chris Kise". Kise signed and submitted the Supreme Court document to Justice Thomas. Mark my words, Kise is involved with legal strategy beyond what is apparent to date. The best person on his team when those indictments hit the fan. When it comes to TFG, it's best to look at what's behind the facade.

Expand full comment

Thank you so much for modeling the ways a professional woman can be a whole human being — extraordinarily intelligent, beautifully well spoken, compassionate, quick-witted, knitting, caring for critters ... and on and on. I've worked with too many women lawyers who felt they must (and they were probably right, given their environments) hide half of who they are in order to gain respect and achieve success. Yay for you and all your "sisters-in-law." MAT, founder, www.attorneyatwork.com

Expand full comment

I love it when you say we are all in this together!

It is a comfort!

Expand full comment

Good morning JV - so nice to hear an optimistic note today. The new baby chick is happy to see the world through your eyes and ours. Appreciate your thoughts and I’m also wondering how far the former president can go into that corner where he holds court.

Expand full comment

So stinking cute♥️ love that baby chick♥️

Appreciate the positive spin for today hopefully it's a sign of things to come...😊

Expand full comment

I agree that it will be exceedingly helpful for people who have been indicted with simple marijuana offenses to be able to get those off their records. We should also remember that there are many people who suffer from anxiety and PTSD who can't get access to medical marijuana (even if their state allows it) because they don't have or can't afford a psychologist who will prescribe it. Others who don't have or can't afford a physician to prescribe it for medical conditions. If they were charged for buying it on the street they too will benefit from this. I also hope they change the type classification and that more states make recreational marijuana legal.

Expand full comment

Ideology, huh? Christian nationalist ideology has nothing to do with the teachings of Jesus, although they claim the soul ability to know what God and Jesus "want". I certainly hope we don't go that direction.

Expand full comment

Love them chickens!

Also, saw your comment on Boebert's innumerate attempt to use the term co-opted so beautifully by "Dark Brandon". Also... Two words are not three words.

Expand full comment

The former guy is an overgrown kid who wants to keep his dangerous toys. He'll trade his toys to look "powerful and strong".

Expand full comment

Sharp right turn here, but what is Trump trying to do with the Supreme Court filing? Just more delay?

Expand full comment

A great way to head into the weekend - cheep thrills.

The amusing outcry from the GQP over the downfall of democracy from the Devil’s Lettuce pardon is rich.

Expand full comment