Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
300

Only Chickens

300

Tonight, just chickens. We could talk about the former president’s childish theatrics in and out of the courtroom today, but honestly, why? He’s predictable in these situations. So tonight, I’m just sharing chicken pictures.

Share

That’s Penelope in the video up above. She decided that she’d show me who was boss when I came out to collect eggs this morning! I’ve never had a chicken exit the coop quite like that.

Most of the girls are a bit out of sorts right now. It’s that time of year when everyone is molting and the ground in the coop is covered in more feathers than it seems possible for chickens to have left behind.

Leeda, Omeleta, and Guida, three of this year’s new chicks, all grown up

Only Cleopatra seems untouched by it all. She’s truly is beautiful—you can just see her turquoise earlobes peeking out in this picture.

On days like today, I’m grateful for their company. Their sweet little noises are oddly soothing (except for the occasional dinosaur-squawk) and great background noise for reading the voluminous legal briefs we’ve been seeing these past few weeks.

I’m also grateful for your support for Civil Discourse. A couple of weeks ago, a colleague said to me that they thought these next thirteen months might be the most important for our country since any time since the Civil War. That though has stayed with me. We all have work to do, and I’m grateful for your presence here and your support. I get to write Civil Discourse only because you’re willing to read it, because you care about the law, want to understand developing legal issues, and are committed to the future of the Republic. Thank you for being here and for subscribing to my newsletter.

We’re in this together,

Joyce

Civil Discourse with Joyce Vance is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Share

300 Comments
Civil Discourse with Joyce Vance
Civil Discourse with Joyce Vance
Authors
Joyce Vance