Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
359

Encouraging Civil Discourse

359

I’ve been working with our new kitten, Tofu, encouraging him on closely supervised visits to get along with the chickens. My mantra with him, just like it was with the dogs when we first got chickens, is “friends not food.” I repeat it over and over as he sits on my lap and we watch them together. I touch his forehead and say his name, point to myself and say “Mommy,” and then point to each of the chickens and name them.

Anyone within hearing distance would think I was a lunatic.

But honestly, I think it’s working. I think the predator may decide it’s worthwhile to make friends with the chickens. It means happy, warm days in the sun, and there’s always the prospect of fresh eggs.

So don’t give up. Civil discourse, no matter how unlikely, really is possible.

We’re in this together,

Joyce

Share

359 Comments
Civil Discourse with Joyce Vance
Civil Discourse with Joyce Vance
Authors
Joyce Vance